Chakra Basics: Sadhguru on Chakras

You are here: Home / Spirituality / Chakra Basics: Sadhguru on Chakras

Chakra BasicsOften in yoga and meditation we refer to chakras and what they do and their colors etc. Sadhguru is one of my favorite modern gurus. I enjoy watching his talks online and hope one day I’m able to attend in person. I found this video where he explains about chakras and wanted to share because it highlights some important aspects of the chakras we don’t often hear or read.

Here is the summary of his talk on chakras:

  • The body has 72,000 nadis. The nadis are the energy pathways in our bodies
  • The word Chakra means wheel, but Chakras aren’t circles or round, they are triangles
  • The body has 114 junction points, also known as Chakras.  Seven of them are what we consider the major ones and most commonly referred to as Chakras
  • These seven chakras have names: Muladhara (root), Svadhistana, Manipura, Anahata, Vishuddi, Ajna, and Sahasrara
  • Self-preservation is in all three lower chakras, Muladhara, Svadhistana, and Manipura
  • “Longing to go beyond” is on all three upper chakras, Vishuddi, Ajna, and Sahasrara
  • The fourth chakra, the heart chakra (Anahata), connects both the upper and the lower chakras

Photo by jordi vilanova vilaro

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.